Bara Shigri Glacier

The Himalaya has always been a place to make records, which also holds many of them. Talking in terms of Indian region about 60% of peaks are in India; They are at heaven touching heights. Most of them covers two vibrant states in India, Uttaranchal and Himachal Pradesh. During my last journey to the valley of Spiti, they kept on impressing me as I progressed deeper, and one of them was Bara Shigri glacier. Bara means “big” and shigri means “glacier”.

Bara Shigri glacier is world’s second longest glacier, which lasts upto 55 Kms connecting Manali – Bara Shigri – Kyelong (Kyelang). It is just 4 kms away from Batal and around 40 Kms from Rohatang Pass. It eventually melts into the Chenab river. The best time to be around is July – September, you’ll find many trekkers in Manali with the same purpose. When I came back from a far view of it, I found there is no decent information on Internet about this numinous glacier and I’m lucky enough to make its picture from 100 meters away ( really thanks to Vibhu for his camera).

The glacier itself is highly steep and you’ve to be very professional to cross this glacier, however there is an alternate way which makes you haggle in rocky floor. I was accompanied by founder of Eco-shpere during this trip and he told me a lot more than I knew. He also added many tourist lost their life or got missing on this way, he recommended to trek in a group loaded with all professional equipments. If yo think you are good enough to walk55 kms in 2 days then forget it. According to him it takes around 6-8 days to reach trans glacier. It is in my 100 things before I die!

2 comments


Comments are closed.